Below are the award winners from the 2016 Model of the Year competition. Congratulations to the winning and highly commended entries, and our thanks to everyone who took part by entering, to those who took time to look at the many excellent models on display, and to the MOTY stewarding and judging team.
A fuller set of photographs will appear in “16mm Today”.

Category Award Name Model
Allcomers Locomotive Trophy Winner John and Peter Cam Coal fired Darjeeling ‘A’ class loco in original condition
Allcomers Locomotive Trophy Highly Commended John Brittain Manning Wardle 2-8-2 well tank 1901/1915 2′ 5 1/2″ gauge
Jack Wheldon Memorial Trophy Winner Dave Morgan A Mamodification of the Beyer-Garratt K1 “as if Mamod (Malin) might have made it
Roundhouse Trophy Winner Geoff Munday Festiniog Railway Double Fairlie “Livingston Thompson”
Roundhouse Trophy Highly Commended Barry Statham K1 Garratt 0-4-0 + 0-4-0T
Roundhouse Trophy Highly Commended Peter Newhouse Spirit of Adventure
Butterley Trophy Winner Phil Hatton Schoema diesel hydraulic locomotive from Isle of Man Railways
Butterley Trophy Highly Commended Geoff Loynes Talyllyn Railway No. 8 “Merseysider” diesel loco
Butterley Trophy Highly Commended John Stephen “The Hornet” scratch built shunter
Andrew Neale Challenge Trophy Winner Mike Dockery 16mm Scale Decauville 8 Ton 500mm Gauge 0-6-0T
Andrew Neale Challenge Trophy Highly Commended David Mercer W.A.G.R. Class R No. 146 (Dübs & Co. Glasgow 1896)
Andrew Neale Challenge Trophy Highly Commended Jeremy Viewing Metre gauge Peckett saddle tank, works number 2029 of 1942, Stewarts & Lloyds No. 87 Wellingborough Quarries and Mines
Lineside Trophy Winner Patrick Cross Engine Shed
Lineside Trophy Highly Commended David Turner Ground signal
Lineside Trophy Highly Commended Chris Turley Freelance island platform station building
Passenger Stock Shield Winner John French Bowaters workmen’s coach
Passenger Stock Shield Highly Commended Campbell Lees Pair of teak bogie coaches
Rolling Stock Trophy Winner Nigel Goff Cork, Blackrock & Passage Railway brake van. 1:24 scale
Rolling Stock Trophy Highly Commended Ken Munday Snailbeach hopper wagons
Gordon Diplock Trophy Highly Commended Rick Collett Mallard and me
Junior Cup Winner Lewis Bloomfield Maintenance works van
Junior Cup Highly Commended Matt Nunn Lister “RT” Diesel conversion and quarry sleds
Junior Cup Highly Commended Harry Pettitt Ffestiniog Railway 1870s four wheelers
Peter Jones Trophy Winner Geof Weston Test station – for testing models on steam or air
Peter Jones Trophy Highly Commended Mike Skyner Project Y, a jet powered track clearing vehicle
Peter Jones Trophy Highly Commended Dave Morgan A Mamodification of the Beyer-Garratt K1 “as if Mamod (Malin) might have made it”
Layouts award Winner  Indian Hill Railway